We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content

Local Elections

At Tuesday's deadline for nominations for the Parish Council elections to be submitted, there were seven candidates for the nine available seats in the Charlwood parish, meaning that it is an uncontested election and all seven are duly elected for the new four-year term which begins in May.

Existing Councillors who will continue to serve on the Parish Council are: Sue Bloom, Carolyn Evans, Walter Hill, Richard Parker, Lisa Scott and Trevor Stacey and they are joined by a new Councillor in David McCorquodale. Richard Parker and Lisa Scott represent the Hookwood ward; the other five represent the Charlwood ward.

There is a vacancy for one more Councillor to represent Charlwood and one more to represent Hookwood. The Parish Council will attempt to fill these vacancies by co-opting two additional Councillors and information will be posted about this process at a later date.

Councillors Penny Shoubridge, James O'Neill and Howard Pearson decided not to stand at this election. The Parish Council thanks them for their long and distinguished service, particularly Penny Shoubridge who for the past four years has chaired the PC with energy and unwavering commitment to the needs of the local community.

Thursday 4th May will stage an election for the Mole Valley District Council seat. The Charlwood ward has now been subsumed into a new ward along with Capel, Leigh and Newdigate - ten candidates are standing and there are three seats to be filled. See the election notice below for details of who is standing.

Information for Voters

The 2023 elections will be the first time that voters will be required to show identification in order to vote at the polling station. This has been introduced under the Elections Act 2022.

Voters need to show an approved form of photo identity - it does not have to be current, provided the likeness is still true. The document must be an original document. The most commonly used ID include:

  • Passport issued by the UK, any of the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man, a British Overseas Territory, an EEA state or a Commonwealth country
  • Photographic driver’s licence issued by the UK, Channel Islands, the Isle of Man, or an EEA state (including provisional)
  • European Economic Area (EEA) photographic ID Card
  • UK Biometric Residence Permit
  • An identity card bearing the Proof of Age Standards Scheme hologram  (PASS card)*
  • A Blue Badge
  • A concessionary travel pass funded by HM Government or local authority 

If you do not have photo ID

Anyone without suitable photo identification can apply for a Voter Authority Certificate (VAC) via the link below:
Apply for photo ID to vote (called a ‘Voter Authority Certificate’) - GOV.UK (

If you are not able to apply online you can download a paper application form. The VAC will be posted directly to the voter. More information on the application process is available on the Electoral Commission's website via this link:
Applying for a Voter Authority Certificate | Electoral Commission

Key dates for Voters:

Deadline to register to vote - Midnight, 17th April
Postal vote deadline - 5pm 18th April
Proxy vote deadline - 5pm 25th April
Deadline to apply for VAC - 5pm 25th April
Deadline to return completed postal vote packs - 10pm 4th May